November 29, 2023

The Student News Site of
Garnet Valley High School

Home Local News Congratulations to our Winners of The Scholastic Writing Awards! 

Congratulations to our Winners of The Scholastic Writing Awards! 

by GVHSJagJournal
0 comment

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards were founded in 1923 and, for nearly a century, have inspired bold ideas in creative teens throughout the country. 

Entries are selected for awards without knowledge of the student’s gender, age, ethnicity, or hometown by some of the foremost leaders in the visual and literary arts. Many Scholastic Awards alumni have lent their expertise as jurors, including Michael Bierut, Philip Pearlstein, Edward Sorel, Red Grooms, and Gary Panter. Other luminaries who have served as judges include Langston Hughes, Robert Frost, Judy Blume, Billy Collins, Paul Giamatti, Francine Prose, Edwidge Danticat, David Sedaris, Lesley Stahl, Nikki Giovanni, Roz Chast, Wangechi Mutu, Andres Serrano, Kiki Smith, Jill Kraus, Shinique Smith, Rashid Johnson, and Waris Ahluwalia.  

Jurors look for works that exemplify the Awards’ core values: originality, skill, and the emergence of a personal voice or vision. 

Scholastic celebrates work that is unique and blurs boundaries. They want work that challenges assumptions.  Is it new? Does it surprise you?  

All entries are considered for Gold Key, Silver Key, Honorable Mention, American Voices Nominee, and American Visions Nominee awards. These are presented to students along with celebration ceremonies and exhibitions in each region. 

Over 10,000 entries were received in the Northeast region this fall. Less than 30 people in the region received gold key awards, 250 were given silver key awards, and 500 were given honorable mentions. Garnet Valley had 78 entries from AP 12 classes and 12 English E-School. Garnet Valley AP had 3 gold key winners, 7 silver key winners, and 13 honorable mentions. GV 12 English E-School had 1 honorable mention. 

National awards are the Gold and Silver Key Entries and these are automatically considered for national gold and silver medals, scholarships, and publication in a ceremony at Carnegie Hall in New York City in May. All the regional winners below will be invited to UPenn for a luncheon this spring. 

This year Garnet Valley has in the Short Story Category:

Gold Key Winners:

Sara Ali – Short Story

Grace Donaghy – Supposed Paradise

Bridget McCann – The Invert of Life

Silver Key Winners 

MK Bulley – The Aging Elixir 

Kris Henning- Short Story

Marina Kondo- Roses of Yellow

Benjamin Kuoch- With Love

Lila Troum- My Summer with Julie 

Scout Walker- Redeemer

Dennis Miczek – Lonpar

Honorable Mention

Benjamin Wou – Once Twice Thrice Frice 

Julien Thiveaud- Perfectly Imbalanced 

Amanda Smith- On Adventurous Evening

Maddie Shoemaker- If the Shoe Fits

Sameeha Said- A Calling

Neshal Kothari- Paper Slave

James Basile- Surf Slides to the Rescue

Tejasvi Dantu- One Corner of the Room

Songlin Li- Monster Under the Bed 

Christopher Nevy- Bombshells

Emilia Palmer- Passerby

Lily Twersky- Cityscape 

In the Science Fiction Category:

Honorable Mention 

Andrew Hua- Trojan

Songlin Li- The Warmth of Silent Stars 

In the Novel Category:

Abby Ioannou-  Golden- SIlver Key 

Songlin Li- The Adrift- Honorable Mention

In the Flash Fiction Category:

Songlin Li- I Too Wish to Fly- Honorable Mention

You may also like

Leave a Comment